Show Me the Nerdy!


Tips and Tools Corporations Should Know When Tweeting
09.11.2009, 11:48 PM
Filed under: Pseudo-Corporate Life | Tags: , , ,

Okay, let’s assume you already know that Twitter is insanely popular, and  is currently the fastest growing site; why not jump in the bandwagon? If you’re looking for a cheap media solution to promote your brand/service/product, isn’t Twitter the way to go?

So if I was tasked by a corporation to head the Twitter tactic of their new social media plan, I would definitely:

1. Personalize the page

I’ll place the company’s short bio, a profile picture, an interesting company wallpaper, and a link to  the company site. How hard can personalizing the Twitter page be? With a minimal amount of effort, I’ll be able to give the impression that the account does belong to the company, and not some fake Twitter page.

2. Follow people

As long as I’m in a public timeline, I can see tweets directed at me. I don’t have to follow everyone, since following 500 000 people will make backreading tweets difficult, if not impossible. I’d rather have interesting and business-relevant people in my “who I’m following” list (eg. The CEO, some business leaders, etc) so consumers can also check out their tweets.

Surely, I won’t turn on auto-follow, as that would result in the company Twitter account infested with spam accounts.

3. Tweet non-annoying content

I say non-annoying (at the risk of sounding grammatically awkward), instead of interesting, since I don’t think anyone can tweet interesting things every single time. I can, however, avoid:

syndicating all website content to twitter (ie. Use twitter as an RSS portal for readers);

  • Sugarcoating the company image (eg. “work is so much fuuuun here!,” “company X rocks!”);
  • Advertising company products only (eg. “click here to buy product X”); and
  • Repeating tweets since people might not have read the same tweet an hour ago.

What I can tweet are:

  • Customer tips;
  • Twitter-exclusive information (eg. Sales, discounts);
  • Insights related to business industry–those that affect consumers, at least;
  • Company product/service launches and updates; and
  • Product/service explanations (eg. If I’m the Nokia Twitter-er, I’d share the creative inspiration behind making Nokia 7705 square-shaped).

4. Make conversations

Twitter is about making conversations too, so if I see a positive tweet about my company’s product, I’ll reply, “thanks, @whoever-this-is!” If there’s a query, I’ll respond quickly. After all, the company Twitter  would look so self-absorbed if the page was full of my tweets only–that’d be broadcasting, not engaging.

5.  Be on the look out for Twitter’s upcoming services for businesses

According to Biz Stone, a Twitter founder, Twitter is currently developing utilities for commercial accounts. One major utility is for companies to be able to get analytics from Twitter data; this way, tweets can be leveraged to accurately observe consumer trends, develop business plans, or arrive at any business decision. Other features being developed by Twitter are currently under the wraps, but I look forward to knowing what those productivity tools are.

6. Use fantastic third party Twitter tools, most of which are free (each tool to be described in no more than 140 characters)

a. Updating status, since twitter web isn’t enough

  • Isip.ph – update Twitter through my phone, with the same rates as texting
  • DestroyTwitter – will work on any OS, categorizes tweets for easy reading, compact interface
  • TweetDeck – same as DestroyTwitter, but can crosspost to Facebook, can handle multiple twitter accounts
  • CoTweet – like previous 2 clients, but especially made for businesses—multi-user and multi-profile, scheduled tweets, conversation threads, and more

b. Monitoring my company, and other key terms

  • TweetBeep and TweetScan– email notifications for anything you want tracked on Twitter
  • Monitter – awesome real-time updating of search results in one webpage
  • Twazzup – similar to Monittor, but this tracks links, photos, and most active contributors
  • TweetVolume – determines frequency of key word mentions in the Twitterverse

c. Categorizing followers into groups

  • TweetWorks – create public and private groups for reading and sending tweets
  • Filttr – create groups, and filters irrelevant Twitter feeds by analyzing my Twitter data

d. Getting more opinions

  • PollDaddy – create polls, and allow non-twitter users to vote too
  • Strawpoll – same as PollDaddy, but StrawPoll has a qualitative aspect that asks Twitterers why they voted a particular way
10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

PollDaddy. Hahahaha. Yey I’ll use this post as reference when I’m ready to maximize my use of Twitter. And I’m not even a corporation.

Comment by arvinrazon

But you will be a major tycoon soon! 😡

Comment by mostlynerdy

This blog post is really a must-see for corporations! 🙂 And even for small companies out there waiting for their time to shine–through Twitter! 🙂

Comment by Judy Marie Santiago

Thanks, Judy! I can’t wait for Twitter to hit a critical mass in the Philippines, so corporations here can actually leverage the site for their businesses! ❤

Comment by mostlynerdy

u can use tweet poll http://twtpoll.com for better twitter engagement within the environment

nice article thanks!

Comment by roses4youjem

Ah yes, I missed twtpoll! I don’t know if there are differences in features with PollDaddy and StrawPoll, so I decided against including it in the entry. But twtpoll does seem like a nice poll tool since it can be used on sites other than Twitter. 🙂

Thanks for reading and reposting! 🙂

Comment by mostlynerdy

[…] here to read the rest: Tips and Tools Corporations Should Know When Tweeting « Show Me … Tweet This Or Share Through Other Social […]

Pingback by Tips and Tools Corporations Should Know When Tweeting « Show Me … | Twitter Web Blog - Twitter Marketing Tips

Hmm.. I have a twitter account, yet I don’t use it at all — well, your post here made me want to give twitter a shot now 😀

Comment by Jhe David

Functionalities for business account must be up soon, i hope,including the analytics part. i wish the account is still free. 🙂

Comment by barrycade

follow @yokoono. she really does things personally.

Comment by ishtela




Leave a Reply

